Zee Se Scribbles

Waarvan die hart vol is, loop die mond van oor

Understanding addiction

8 Kommentaar

Ek het gisteraand so bietjie deur DSTV gebrowse. Toe kom ek op ‘n dokumentêr af “Addiction”. Ek het die “auto tune” gedruk want julle wees mos nou al, ek wil soos ‘n spons wees wat alles van dwelms probeer opsuig om meer te leer. Ek het al agter gekom dat hier mense by die kommentaar raad kom vra, maar dat ek soos ‘n boek toeslaan en nie regtig raad kan gee nie. Is dit omdat ek toe ek die raad nodig gehad het, nie raad gekry het nie en dan nou nie regtig weet hoe om hierdie “desperate” mense te antwoord nie. Dalk is my manier om net skakels te gee die regte opsie vir my omdat ek nie bevoeg is om die regte raad te gee nie.

Ek het by Zone Reality vasgesteek totdat die program moes begin. Hoe toevallig was een van die programme oor ‘n ma wat vir haar dogter gaan soek het in Vancouver, Canada. Na ‘n soektog (as ek reg onthou) van 4 jaar het hulle uiteindelik uitgevind dat sy en ‘n hele paar ander meisies vermoor was. Haar dogter het ook met heroin verslawing gesukkel.

Anyways, ek het toe die dokumentêr gekyk en besef dat ons eintlik maar leke is. Hierdie dokters doen toetse terwyl van die mense onttrek om te kyk watse effek dit op die brein het. Hulle het ook naalde, dagga ens vir ‘n split sekonde geflits om te kyk watse effek dit op die brein gehad het. (Seun het my al voorheen vertel dat sulke beelde wel die lus aanhits).

Brain Imaging

The ability to look inside the brain through electronic imaging has yielded many advances in the study of addiction, allowing researchers to focus on triggers like dopamine, the neurotransmitter that defines the brain’s pleasure pathways. At the Brookhaven National Laboratory, Nora Volkow shows John, a 43-year-old methamphetamine user, an MRI image of his brain next to a “normal” one. Despite visual evidence of damage, John seems ambivalent about quitting. “Our brain has a tremendous capacity for recovery,” insists Volkow, suggesting that John’s brain can heal itself – if he can stay off drugs.

The Addiction Project is produced by HBO in partnership with the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) and the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA).


Addiction is a chronic but treatable brain disorder in which people lose the ability to control their need for alcohol or other drugs.

The American Psychiatric Association has established seven key characteristics that show doctors what to look for in diagnosing addictive disorders.

Using drugs repeatedly over time changes brain structure and function in fundamental and long-lasting ways.

The human brain is an extraordinarily complex and fine-tuned communications network containing billions of specialized cells (neurons) that give origin to our thoughts, emotions, perceptions and drives. Often, a drug is taken the first time by choice to feel pleasure or to relieve depression or stress.

Brain imaging research is revealing that the signals, or cues, that may spark an addicted person’s desire to take drugs can be incredibly subtle or quick. Expanded knowledge about craving helps scientists develop new medical treatments for addiction.

Scientists have identified biology (including genes), mental health, social environment, childhood trauma and even the age at which a person begins to use drugs as key factors that affect whether or not a drug or alcohol user becomes addicted.

Most people who struggle with addiction will return to their drug or alcohol use (relapse) at least once. This is the result of the way the brain function has been altered by substance use. People differ in their susceptibility to relapse.

Addiction remains shrouded in misunderstanding and in pervasive beliefs that have been disproved through scientific research. Learn to separate fact from fiction.

In May of 2006 HBO, USA Today and The Gallup Poll asked US adults, who have an immediate family member who has had a drug or alcohol addiction, a variety of question about addiction in general and the impact of addiction on their own lives.

Een van die stories was oor ‘n paartjie wat ook aan heroïne verslaaf is.

Justin en Amanda

In Film – Justin and Amanda, a young couple who had been addicted to opiates for several years, entered Acadia Hospital’s treatment facility to get help with their opiate addiction. Six months after being on drug replacement therapy, they have both remained sober.

Post Film (02/01/07) – Justin and Amanda are both doing well. They have remained sober, not having a single relapse since going on Suboxone. Both have switched over to methadone because of the cost and lack of insurance for Suboxone. They are working full time and return to Acadia every morning at 5:30am to receive their medicine.

Opiate Addiction: A New Medication

In the 1960s, methadone was found to be successful in treating addiction to opiates like heroin. More recently, buprenorphine, which can be prescribed by physicians under the brand name Suboxone, has taken the treatment one step further. Amanda, 20, has been addicted to opioids (painkillers and heroin) for three years; her boyfriend Justin, 23, has been addicted six years. Together, they attend an orientation session at Acadia Hospital in Maine, learning about replacement therapy and Suboxone from Scott Farnum, Administrator of Substance Abuse Services. Explaining that the stimulation from opiates is “way more potent” than anything the brain produces, Farnum says that Suboxone – an opiate blocker – might replace methadone in certain cases. While Amanda and Justin both show improvement after six months, Justin says he may return to the more affordable methadone. Either way, Farnum explains that kicking the heroin habit without replacement drugs is virtually impossible: “After gross withdrawal, you feel like shit – that’s why 90% of the people who don’t use replacement therapy relapse.”

Kan ek maar hoop dat daar sulke medisyne is in SA?  Dink net wat dit kan doen vir baie verslaafdes wat graag wil maar nie die wilskrag het nie, of weer terug val in die donker gat deur net daardie split second flitse wat hulle iewers sien………………..

Gaan loer gerus by HBO en kyk van die dokumentere video’s, presies wat ek gisteraand gekyk het.

zee-1

Author: Zee

Waarvan die hart van vol is, loop die mond van oor....

8 thoughts on “Understanding addiction

  1. Zee, gaan lees gou hier. Ek dink hulle moet dit oral toepas. In hierdie geval,uitstel tot na die geboorte van die baba en haar dan voor die vuur pelaton sit. Jammer julle, ek klink wreed maar hulle maak onskuldige kinders dood.

    http://ca.news.yahoo.com/s/afp/090502/world/britain_laos_crime_rights_1

  2. (((Zee)))
    Sjoe, ek het 2keer hier gelees!
    dankie dat jy ons so op hoogte hou oor hierdie onderwerp.
    Nimsi

  3. Dis vreesaanjaend as mens sien wat hierdie middels als aan jou brein doen! Ek het baie lank terug ook ‘n program gesien van die effek van dwelms op jou brein ens. Baie interessant en as mens dit gesien het kan jy wragtig nie daai pad wil stap nie.

  4. Ek wonder weer of sommige mense nie ‘n neiging het om verslaaf te raak nie. Aan enigiets: rook, ooreet, dobbel, drank, dwelms. As ek na my rookverslawing kyk, dink ek nogal ek het so tipe ‘persoonlikheid’. Daarom sal ek nooit, ooit met dwelms eksperimenteer nie. Ek sweer ek sal gehook raak, so gou soos nou.

  5. Boendoe, ek dink ook mens kry mense met n “addictive personality”, ek is ook een, daarom sal ek NOOIT wil ekspirimenteer met drugs nie.

  6. Julle moet ook die dvd “Candy” kyk of die boek ook lees as julle kan. Gaan oor n paartjie wat verslaaf is en hoe hulle lewe is.

  7. Boendoe en Tweelingkind
    Julle is 100% reg.
    En die geneigdheid tot verslawing is (blykbaar) oorerflik.

  8. Pingback: Topics about Usa | Understanding addiction

Lewer kommentaar

