Zee Se Scribbles

Waarvan die hart vol is, loop die mond van oor

Digital Drugs

24 Kommentaar

Ek het op hierdie stuk afgekom en dit was nogal baie interessant.  Die joernalis Kim Komando van die USA Today het baie negatiewe kommentaar deur die stuk ontvang en baie sê dat sy net sensasie gesoek het.  Lees maar hier verder maar onthou net dat dit deur n joernalis geskryf is en ek het geen idee hoeveel navorsing sy gedoen het nie.  Die tweede deel is van Wikipedia af en hulle noem dit ook.

Web delivers new worry for parents – Digital Drugs

We all know that music can alter your mood. Sad songs can make you cry. Upbeat songs may give you an energy boost. But can music create the same effects as illegal drugs?

This seems like a ridiculous question. But websites are targeting your children with so-called digital drugs. These are audio files designed to induce drug-like effects.

All your child needs is a music player and headphones.

Understanding binaural beats

There are different slang terms for digital drugs. They’re often called “idozers” or “idosers.” All rely on the concept of binaural beats.

It is incorrect to call binaural beats music. They’re really ambient sounds designed to affect your brain waves.

For binaural beats to work, you must use headphones. Different sounds are played in each ear. The sounds combine in your brain to create a new frequency. This frequency corresponds to brain wave frequencies.

There are different brain wave frequencies. These frequencies are related to different states like relaxation and alertness.

Digital drugs supposedly synchronize your brain waves with the sound. Hence, they allegedly alter your mental state.

Binaural beats create a beating sound. Other noises may be included with binaural beats. This is intended to mask their unpleasant sound.

Different types of digital drugs

Some sites provide binaural beats that have innocuous effects. For example, some claim to help you develop extrasensory powers like telepathy and psychokinesis.

Other sites offer therapeutic binaural beats. They help you relax or meditate. Some allegedly help you overcome addiction or anxiety. Others purport to help you lose weight or eliminate gray hair.

However, most sites are more sinister. They sell audio files (“doses”) that supposedly mimic the effects of alcohol and marijuana.

But it doesn’t end there. You’ll find doses that purportedly mimic the effects of LSD, crack, heroin and other hard drugs. There are also doses of a sexual nature. I even found ones that supposedly simulate heaven and hell.

Do digital drugs work?

Many are skeptical about the effects of digital drugs. Few scientific studies have been conducted on binaural beats. However, a Duke University study suggests that they can affect mood and motor performance.

Dr. Nicholas Theodore, a brain surgeon at Barrow Neurological Institute in Phoenix, said there is no real evidence that idosers work. But he noted that musical preference is indicative of emotional vulnerability. Trying idosers could indicate a willingness to experiment with drugs and other dangerous behavior.

Theodore added that idosers are another reason to monitor kids’ Internet usage. And, he said, kids need frank talks with their parents about correct choices.

“I suspect this ‘Pied Piper’ phenomenon will pass rapidly and quietly,” he said.

Online, many people have posted their experiences with digital drugs. They tout the effectiveness of binaural beats.

Or, go to YouTube. You’ll see videos of teens experimenting with digital drugs. You can decide for yourself if binaural beats induce drug-like effects.

Companies that sell digital drugs take both sides of the argument. They say that the doses are extremely powerful. Some are recommended only for experienced users.

But they often hedge their bets. Some users may be immune to binaural beats, they say. They also say the situation must be right to feel the effects.

Should you worry about digital drugs?

Companies that sell digital drugs claim they’re safe. Supposedly, they won’t affect your physical health.

Let’s think about this for a moment. The sites claim binaural beats cause the same effects as illegal drugs. These drugs impair coordination and can cause hallucinations. They’ve caused countless fatal accidents, like traffic collisions.

If binaural beats work as promised, they are not safe. They could also create a placebo effect. The expectation elicits the response. Again, this is unsafe.

At the very least, digital drugs promote drug use. Some sites say binaural beats can be used with illegal drugs.

The sites also look favorably on the effects of illegal drugs. So, talk to your children. Make sure they understand the dangers of this culture. It could be a small jump from digital drugs to the real thing.

Wikipedia

Hypothetical effects on brain function

Binaural beats may influence functions of the brain besides those related to hearing. This phenomenon is called frequency following response. The concept is that if one receives a stimulus with a frequency in the range of brain waves, the predominant brain wave frequency is said to be likely to move towards the frequency of the stimulus (a process called entrainment). In addition, binaural beats have been credibly documented to entrain brainwave rhythms, according to the frequency following response, at various sites in the brain.

The stimulus does not have to be aural; it can also be visual or a combination of aural and visual. (One such example would be Dreamachine.) However, using alpha frequencies with such stimuli can trigger photosensitive epilepsy.

When the perceived beat frequency corresponds to the delta, theta, alpha, beta, or gamma range of brainwave frequencies, the brainwaves entrain to or move towards the beat frequency. For example, if a 315 Hz sine wave is played into the right ear and a 325 Hz one into the left ear, the brain is entrained towards the beat frequency (10 Hz, in the alpha range). Since alpha range is associated with relaxation, this has a relaxing effect or if in the beta range, more alertness. An experiment with binaural sound stimulation using beat frequencies in the Beta range on some participants and Delta/Theta range in other participants, found better vigilance performance and mood in those on the awake alert state of Beta range stimulation.

Binaural beat stimulation has been used fairly extensively to induce a variety of states of consciousness, there has been some work done in regards to the effects of these stimuli on relaxation, focus, attention, and states of consciousness.  Studies have shown that with repeated training to close frequency sounds that a plastic reorganization of the brain.

Another claimed effect of binaural sound is to mimic the effects of alcohol and marijuana, and illegal drugs such as LSD, crack, heroin and other hard drugs. The purported effects of such “digital drugs” is impaired coordination and hallucinations.

Author: Zee

Waarvan die hart van vol is, loop die mond van oor....

24 thoughts on “Digital Drugs

  1. ‘n tiener se brein kan blykbaar hierdie sounds vat, in fact hulle floreer daaroner… dis wat ek eens op ‘n tyd gehoor het, hulle breine is nog nie “voltooid” nie, so mens moet nie te veel worry nie, hulle groei heeltemaal daaruit…. ek hoop en dink so… wel ja vir sommige kan dit seker hul dood beteken al die digital brainwaves.
    shoe
    wat erg zeg zeetjie

  2. ~Ek lees graag~
    Hoe kry jy sulke oulike titels vir jou voer en so… moet mens ‘n advanced setting kies?

    lovies
    ansophie

  3. Sjoe, dis woes!

    Ek dink ek moet vir die kinders hier digitale drugs gee om hulle te beheer…😈

    Eerste keer wat ek daarvan hoor. Baie interessant.

  4. Wow, vreemde wéreld waarin ons lewe…

  5. Tye het darem vreeslik verander!

    Geniet die dag!

  6. Eerste keer wat ek hiervan hoor!😯 Baie interessant.

  7. a nee a, wat net nie alles uitgedink sal word om ons ou kindertjies
    in die versoeking te lei nie…..

    ek hoop net van harte dat dit bespiegelling is en dat dit nooit regtig
    “real” word nie.

    en die ergste is…… ons weet mos ook maar nooit waar die kinders op die internet orals kuier nie, hoop nie dis al te laat as ons dit besef nie…..

    Thanks vir die interessante stuk!!!

  8. Wel, hel, slaan my met ‘n pap snoek!!! maar eintlik is dit niks nuuts nie – ek het vir my enigste mooiste meisiekind die beta study system cd gekoop – dis nou watervalle en oceans en waves en forest sounds wat jy na luister terwyl jy studeer en dit help met konsentrasie (jip, dit het regtig gewerk!!) – iewers tussenin is daar ook ‘n sleep-inducer sound… sy’t nie eers oorfone gebruik nie – sommer so op die stereo gespeel… (ek het 3 keer daardie aand voor die stoof aan die slaap geraak!!!😆

  9. Oh – en die damn musiekstukkie wat hulle in die salon gespeel het toe ek gaan vir my sonbed sessie…. suffice to say ek en Sebastian van “the little mermaid” het gelyk of ons ‘n tweeling gebore is…😳 hmmm laat my nou wonner – word lobsters gebore of gelê? Nevermind – ek het met ‘n inflammasie-pienk dop op my rug geloop vir weke!! – als net musiek se skuld!!!
    LOL @ ansophie!! *hulle breine is nog nie “voltooid” nie, so mens moet nie te veel worry nie, hulle groei heeltemaal daaruit* – dit het niks met die brein te doen nie – dis hormones!!! (by my issit ook nie meer hormones nie – en dis alles my haarkleur se skuld!!!😆

  10. Sjoe! ongelooflik!

  11. Ansophie, ek stuur vir jou ‘n mail!!
    Dankie aan almal vir julle insetsels. Ek gaan nog so bietjie rondswerf en kyk of ek nog iets kan kry om seker te maak of dit waar is.

  12. Jy gaan dink ek is totaal van my sinne beroof, maar ek is mos nou maar eenmaal nuuskierig! Baie slegte ding!
    Ek het ook bietjie gaan rondsnuffel en dit selfs probeer…JA ek weet, maar ek moes weet! Ek is nie een vir dwelms nie, so moenie bekommer nie, sien dit as navorsing!
    Anyway, ek het sommer net die dagga-ding probeer. Die sessie is 10min lank, maar op 5min wou ek nie meer nie! Ek verstaan nie wat so lekker is om so buite beheer te voel nie. Neewat, nie vir my nie! Daar is egter ander goed wat ek reken glad nie kan veilig of goed wees nie. Dog ek se maar net. EK weet nou hoekom dwelms my nooit getrek nie en ek was nie verkeerd nie. Dis nie lekker nie. Dis ‘n lelike ding wat nou sy kop uitgesteek het.

  13. Kaalvoetkind, dankie dat jy eintlik die guts gehad het om dit te doen en darem na 5 min uitgetrek het. Nou kan ek tog glo dat hierdie waar is en ons maar die kinders moet dophou met sulke goed. Ek het nie regtig geweet hoe waar dit is nie, maar nou jou, daar is die bewyse!!

  14. Ek dink nie rerig dit was guts nie, eerder sommer net nuuskierige agie en dom daarby😉 At least weet ons nou dit werk. Dit is nogal ‘n ingewikkelde storie en dit werk nie vir almal dieselfde nie en dit werk ook nie op almal nie. Zee, ek dink ek sou siek geword het as ek enigsins langer op was…alles het gedraai. Ek het maar net op my bed bly le vir ‘n wyle! Nee, hel, mag ek nooit by so iets betrokke raak nie, maar ek is gelukkig te bang daarvoor.

  15. Genade! Scary!

  16. Baie interessant, Zee!! Voordat ek my kind hierdie tipe drugs “voer” terwyl sy brein “groei”…stimuleer ek hom eerder met iets anders as net klanke/geraas…wat van ‘n nuwe taal!🙂

  17. Dan, dit is nie ‘n artikel/koerant berig wat neutraal is nie, maar ‘n rubriek. In ‘n rubriek/column spreek mense juis hulle eie opinie uit.

    Ek wonder darem….mens se brein het verskillende golfe alpha, beta maar of dit soos drugs is….stretching it.

  18. Ek meer golwe nie golfe nie…ai! jammer

  19. Ek het vandag die snaaksste ondervinding gehad. Ek het van die kerk afgekom en my dogter sê vir my luister gou hier, iets wat sy gister gekry het. Ek sit haar headphones van haar sel op en begin luister. Ek het ‘n “virtual haircut” gekry. Ek belowe julle, dit het gevoel asof ek ‘n haarsny met die skêr gekry het, toe die knipper kom het dit gevoel asof al my hare afgeskeer word. Die klanke was ongelooflik. Dit was asof ek in ‘n salon gesit het. Die musiek het van ver agteraf gekom. Mense se voetstappe soos hulle loop maar nie direk in my oor nie. Op die end het die man iets gefluister in my oor, soos in regtig. Ek kan nou glo dat die ervaring wat Kaalvoetkind gehad het so real moes gevoel het.

    Ek het haar toe van hierdie inskrywing vertel en vir haar gesê om asb baie versigtig te wees.

    CREEPY!!

  20. I’ve used many different binaural beat programs. They work by entraining your brain to a certain frequency such as Beta, Alpha, Theta, Delta. These are the normal range of frequencies that we go through every day as we fall asleap, dream, have dreamless sleep, wake up, and get busy with our day.

    If I want to really concentrate while I work on a large project I will use a binaural beat that promotes the relaxed concentration associated with Alpha brain waves. If I want to use binaural beats to enhance meditation then perhaps a programs that promotes, alpha, theta, and delta.

    The largest risk of using binaural beats is that delta waves will almost definately put you to sleep. This is why everyone says to not use binaural beats while driving! But, if you’re at home, and having a hard time falling asleep, then binaural beats are a great way to do so – allowing the user to not use chemical drugs such as sleeping pills.

    Also, unlike chemicals, as soon as you turn off the binaural beats and take off your headphones you can go about life as usual, though be warned: you might feel well rested, calm, and composed.

  21. Hi Tommy, thanks for dropping by!! How is Yuki doing? What is your view on the drug side of binaural beats? I have experienced a virtual haircut when Marcia played something on her cellphone for me and I really got scary because it felt so real. My view on this is if a haircut can feel so real, so can drugs. The thing about drugs is that your mind crave the drug, not your body. With experience with M I know that he can be clean for say 4 months but the craving for the drug is still there. So, can virtual drugs not give you the same high?

    I do know that you also get programs to enhance studying for students and some people say that it works and some say that it doesn’t!

  22. Most “highs” are caused by the attachment of a chemical in an uptake receptor in the brain. This isn’t only accomplished through the introduction of external chemicals (caffeine, thc, sugar, etc), but also by the body generating its own chemicals (adrenaline, endorphin, etc).

    I’m not sure if binaural beats can coax the body into releasing natural chemicals; if it can then it could be as potentially addictive as exercise or sex.

    Many of the hallucinatory sensations that some of the programs might cause likely function in the same way that dreams do.

    As for drugs being something that your mind craves, not your body: there are two types of addictions: mental and physiological. Withdraw symptoms come from physiological addictions.

    I’ve never met anyone who was addicted to binaural beats; mentally or physically. If people choose to continue to experiment with “strange” programs, it is probably just because they are interested in experiencing various sensations, and not because they are looking for a fix.

  23. Tommy, thanks for your view! I think it is up to each individual to take the step or not…. to carry on or not….but I certainly hope it is the not step!

Lewer kommentaar

